Mary Museum & River Centre.
Kandanga Qld 4570.
Phone: 07 5488 4800.
Email: firstname.lastname@example.org .
Located next to the Kandanga Railway Station, is a tribute to all the people who worked so hard to overturn the decision to dam the Mary River, complete with a story-board, that goes around the walls with the knitted scarf, of the three and a half year campaign from start to finish and packed full of colorful photos and signs. From its beginnings, the campaign to save the Mary River has been characterised by creativity. Campaigners tapped into considerable talents in music, writing, photography, costume-making, sign-writing, cartooning, visual art & design to get their message across.The River Education section focuses on the unique flora and fauna of the Mary River and provides information about future water resource planning and river restoration, river dynamics and food webs right from the top of the catchment to the Mary River Estuary and the internationally recognised wetlands, the Great Sandy Strait.
The River Education section focuses on the unique flora and fauna of the Mary River and provides information about future water resource planning and river restoration, river dynamics and food webs right from the top of the catchment to the Mary River Estuary and the internationally recognised wetlands, the Great Sandy Strait.
For more information, click here to go to the featured website
Bankfoot House – Glass House Mountains : Open on the last Sunday of the month from 10 am to 3 pm, in the Bankfoot House Heritage Precinct, 1998 Old Gympie Road, Glass House Mountains.
Bankfoot House is 3 km southwest of the Glass House Mountains township in the hinterland of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast.
The present house faces Old Gympie Road, just as the original Bankfoot House faced the “new” Gympie Road back in 1868.
It was built when gold was first discovered in Gympie in October 1867. The original house was constructed in 1868 to service the steady stream of individuals and coach traffic heading north to the Gympie gold fields. The accommodation house was extended in 1878 to provide separate family living quarters. The original 1868 house was dismantled in 1930 and the separate family living quarters were expanded into the present day house. The core of the current house therefore dates back to 1878.
Bankfoot House was built by William Grigor, a Scot who emigrated to Australia in 1855. In 1863 William married a Scottish lass, Mary Fenwick. The couple, with their growing family, moved to the Glass House Mountains from Mooloolah in 1868. Bankfoot House was named after the town of Bankfoot in Perthshire, Scotland, where Mary was born.
Friends of Bankfoot House Inc is a volunteer community group assisting the Sunshine Coast Council to preserve this historic residence.
For further information – drop by the house or contact the Secretary, Friends of Bankfoot House Inc, PO Box 337 Glass House Mountains Qld. 4518 or email email@example.com.
Discover Eumundi – Heritage & Visitor Centre : Corner of Memorial Drive & Gridley Street (near the Post Office).
Opening Hours: Monday to Friday 10 am to 3 pm; Saturday 10 am to 2 pm; and Sunday 10 am to 1 pm.
Free Entry – Displays of Eumundi History – History of the Eumundi Markets – Tourist Information
Wan’din’in – arts space – Old Police Cells and more …
The Eumundi and District Historical Association:
• comprises a management committee and members
• owns a not-for-profit company – Original Eumundi Markets Ltd
• is one of three member associations forming ECCO – Eumundi Combined Community Organisation Ltd
• Has three main physical assets:
• Discover Eumundi – Heritage and Visitor Centre CLICK HERE
• The Eumundi School of Arts Hall (trustees of the hall) CLICK HERE
• Canecutters Building and market site in Memorial Drive, Eumundi